• 17.4°F
    Feels like 17.4°F

  • | More

    Flying Dutchmen Win Again At Riverhead
    July 24, 2016 6:26 pm  
    Flying Dutchmen Win Again At Riverhead

    by Warren Horst

    The West Sayville Fire Department Flying Dutchmen drill team once again came out on top vying against fourteen other volunteer fire departments from Suffolk County this past Saturday, July 16, at the Riverhead Fire Department Annual Invitational Drill.

    Stringing together a top five finish in each of the eight contests – including four first place efforts – the Flying Dutchmen accumulated a total of twenty-nine out of a possible forty points to take home the top honors. The invitational tournament is in its thirtieth consecutive year and was part of the Riverhead Fire Department’s 180th anniversary celebration.

    The Islip Wolves garnered second place overall with twenty-one points while the Central Islip Hoboes and North Lindenhurst Piston Knockers shared third place, each earning seventeen points. The Lindenhurst Snails rounded out the top five with a fifteen point effort.

    The victory was the third of the summer for West Sayville, the first two being in Lindenhurst at the Long Island Invitational Drill and last week’s Suffolk County title at Central Islip, and its 170th since the team first stepped foot on the track in 1892.

    The Flying Dutchmen led the way from the first through the last contests by placing first in the Three Man Ladder (6.34 seconds), B Ladder (5.18 seconds), C Ladder (9.01 seconds and Motor Pump (6.02 seconds) contests; third in C Hose (12.95 seconds) and B Hose (8.45 seconds); fourth in Efficiency (9.30 seconds) and fifth in Buckets (27.26 seconds).

    The Flying Dutchmen will be competing again in the upcoming weeks at 1:00 p.m. on Saturday, July 30, 2016 in the Nassau-Suffolk Invitational Drill hosted by the Central Islip Fire Department at its training facility on Wheeler Road and in the New York State Drill on Saturday, August 20, 2016 starting at 9:00 a.m. on the training grounds of the Main Transit Fire Department, 6777 Main Street, Williamsville, NY, just outside of Buffalo.

    The 2016 Riverhead Invitational Champions are coached by Frank R. Miller, Sr., Robert Marra and G. Scott Schrader; led by Captain Michael Marra and Lieutenant Chad Leigh-Manuell; and, comprised of David Banks, Kristy Banks, Kevin Candido, Louis Christensen, Brian D’Onofrio, Patrick Garrett, William Hothan, Ryan Huguenin, Casey Johnson, Frank R. Miller, Jr., Robert Noonan, Richard Quenzer, Joseph Quenzer, Gary A. Schaum, Daniel Tenney and Ryan Tenney.

    Comments are closed.